Sliced ‘n Spiced: An Applesauce Recipe

A recipe I adapted from a class to add my own personal touch to it.

img_20161021_124558783One great thing about living in the Pacific Northwest during autumn is the apples.  Fucking apples all over the place.  Normally, they are crisp and crunchy, unless if they have been climate controlled (and thus became mealy).  Either way, throw them in the motherfucking pot and boil them down until there is only mush left.

Here’s what I used (the recipe is adapted from my food laboratory notebook for a science of foods class):

  • 4 Apples: I used Jonagold and Granny Smith because of their flavors
  • 1 C. water
  • Nutmeg
  • Cinnamon
  • Ginger: In the picture I used crystalized ginger, which is basically large chunks of ginger root cooked in a syrup.  Be sure to cut it up into smaller pieces
  1. Wash the apples. This step is important because food borne illness is a bitch.
  2. Peel, cut, and core apples. Feel free to eat the peels.  I did.
  3. Put the apples in a slow cooker. Use a liner if you want, I really do not give a fuck.  You do you.
  4. Pour the water over top of apples. Season the apples with nutmeg, cinnamon, and ginger to taste.  I like mine spicy and brown, you might like it more appley.
  5. Turn the slow cooker onto high, and cover. The applesauce will be done in about 4-5 hours.
  6. I let applesauce cool on the countertop, and then transferred into the fridge to help it cool and form a slightly thicker sauce.

 

The way I made it, the sauce is a bit sweet, a bit tangy, and somewhat bitter or earthy.  If a sweeter sauce is desired, you can use sweeter apples, less spices than I did (that is why it is dark brown, I really like my spices), or add 1-3 Tbsp table sugar if desired.  Personally, I do not like a whole lot of sugar in my applesauce, as I wanted the natural sweetness of the apples and flavor of the spices to be the “stars” of the flavor profile.

Author: The Nutrition Punk

Some snarky college student at Oregon State University studying nutrition. Listens to too much rock, heavy metal and other loud music. My goal is to have a place to eliminate some misinformation about nutrition while trying to be funny about it. Note: I am not a doctor, so any advise on this site is not meant to be taken as medical advice.

Leave a Reply

