Feelings by This Offspring: My Take on Some of my Emotions

Some millennial talks about life like they’ve lived it enough or something.

Ah, the journey of life.  Some say that it’s the best thing ever, that living is a blessing.  Others would claim that it is a tragedy, that life is a terrible curse.  I, on the other hand think life is a joke, and we are all the punchline.  With that, it is up to you to decide whether to laugh at it, or be miserable because of it.  But, back to the point about emotions.

I recently had an interesting conversation with one of my friends during a session at the gym.  Some people view negative feelings as something to be avoided.  However, I told him that my rage was actually a GOOD thing.  And that my happiness is not always something to cherish.  So what do I mean with this fucked-up perspective?

I view my rage or sorrow or any other negative emotion like an active volcano.  Sure, initially it erupts and there is mass destruction.  However, once the lava cools, the soil becomes more fertile.  New life begins in the area that was obliterated.  With my anger, it motivates me to improve.  I find things I do not like in life, and I change them.  Sadness makes everything after so much better and puts things in perspective.  Whereas happiness, I view more as stagnation.  If things are all hunky dory, then things are not going to change.  I mean, I am not going to fix something that isn’t broken.

The problem though, is I do have some problems with balance.  Sometimes I am to angry or sad about things I cannot change, or I remain blissfully unaware that there is an issue until it gets called into attention, and then at that point, I feel like an asshole.  I mean, shit in life is hard to deal with.

Recalling back to my statement about life as a joke, I choose to laugh.  Even if it isn’t always funny.  Since life is temporary, and I as a living entity am a punchline, I might as well laugh when it’s funny, or try to make a change when it isn’t.  Sometimes all a joke needs is a simple edit here and there for the audience when it is not funny, and other times, there’s no change needed because the crowd is already in stitches.

So what are your takes on life itself?  Anything interesting to say?

Author: The Nutrition Punk

Some snarky college student at Oregon State University studying nutrition. Listens to too much rock, heavy metal and other loud music. My goal is to have a place to eliminate some misinformation about nutrition while trying to be funny about it. Note: I am not a doctor, so any advise on this site is not meant to be taken as medical advice.

Leave a Reply

